The End Of An Era

The second type project of the semester is now complete.

I think this was a great project in learning how I could effectively use type to convey the meaning and emotion of the speech without blatantly stating ideas.

For my expressive type book, I used chose colors (midnight/dark blue, deep red, and white) that would symbolize the freedom attained and the cultural movement that began from the act. I also selected Brandon Grotesque (regular, italic) as well as Clarendon to add a clean, modern update to the 1960s vibe of the speech. For each spread, I wanted to allow the user to move through the book in the manner that matched the emotion behind, not only LBJ, but the late President Kennedy and the individuals behind the civil rights movement.

The transition from book to animation was actually more difficult than I expected, but I wanted to match the same environment with slightly different visuals (bigger and added emphasis) and more movement. Additionally, my status as a novice AE user greatly hindered me in figuring out the best animation to use without being overly dramatic or cheesy. I tried my best, so I hope the end piece looks more put together than when I first started. I’ve learned a great deal about AE and kinetic typography with this portion of the project.

Thank you for reading.

Here are the final results.

Leave a comment